Contact Us
Top banner desktop

PFA named Premier League 2020/21 team of the year

The Players Football Association has named the Premier League team of the year for this season 2020-21. The team is picked according to the votes of football professionals which makes it one of the highest Honours a player can receive.

Last updated: 05.06.2021
PFA named Premier League 2020/21 team of the year

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The Players' Football Association has named the Premier League team of the year for this season. The team is picked according to the votes of football professionals which makes it one of the highest Honours a player can receive.

Here is the 2020/21 team of the year:

Ederson -


Ederson was once again a rock between the sticks for Manchester City. The Brazilian shot-stopper kept 19 clean sheets in the Premier League this season. His distribution with the feet was key for Manchester City throughout the season during which he also managed to get an assist to his name.

Joao Cancelo -

Joao Cancelo had his breakthrough season at Manchester City. The Portuguese fullback played on both sides of the defence this season. He managed to be equally effective on both sides as he scored 2 and assisted 3 in the Premier League.

John Stones - 

John Stones came back to life this season in the Premier League. The English centre half was out of the team last season falling behind Aymeric Laporte and Eric Garcia. After the arrival of Ruben Diaz this season, Stones' future at Manchester City looked uncertain. But manager Pep Guardiola put him back in the team eventually. Stones arguably had his best season since arriving at the Etihad. Former Everton defender was not only a rock at the back but he also managed to score 4 goals in the Premier League this season.

Ruben Diaz - 

Diaz has had an incredible impact ever since he arrived in the Premier League. Manchester City signed the Portuguese defender from Sporting Lisbon. Diaz has proved to be the best defender in the Premier League this season and a very strong contender for the Player of the year award.

Luke Shaw -

Shaw's Career at Manchester United has been a bit lukewarm ever since she joined the club. The fullback has had a couple of very nasty injuries that have never allowed him to reach his full potential. All of that changed this season. The Englishman racked up 5 assists and a goal this season and was the best left-back in the Premier League and possibly in the world. 

Ilkay Gundogan - 

Gundogan was the dark horse of the title-winning Manchester City team. The German Midfielder scored 13 goals and got 2 assists in the Premier League. This is the season where Gundogan cemented his place in Pep Guardiola's side after coming from Dortmund in 2016

Kevin De Bruyne -

De Bruyne once again had an incredible season in midfield for Manchester City. The Belgian managed to get 6 goals and 12. De Bruyne got in this side despite missing a few games from injuries thanks to his match-winning performances from time to time 

Bruno Fernandes - 

Fernandes changed things around at Old Trafford after he arrived from Spotting. After arriving in January Fernandes lit the Premier League on fire. His first full session as a Manchester United player was just as good as last season. Fernandes got 18 goals and 12 assists in the Premier League alone. Fernandes will undoubtedly be the main man for Manchester United for years to come.

Mohammed Salah - 

Despite going trophyless this season and barely managing to secure a Champions League spot with Liverpool. Personally, Salah had a very strong season in Merseyside having scored 22 goals and provided another 5.

Son Heung-min - 

Son got 17 goals and 10 assists for Tottenham this season. Son combined with Harry Kane to carry the Spurs team on their back. This was statistically the Korean's best season since coming to North London.

Harry Kane -

Harry Kane once again showed the world why he is one of the very best strikers in the world. The English man became only the third player in the history of the Premier League to win the golden boot and playmaker of the season award during a single campaign. Kane got 23 goals and 14 assists in the Premier League this season. It's safe to say that Spurs would be nowhere near the top of the table if not for Harry Kane.

Players unlucky to have missed out -

Emiliano Martinez, Antonio Rudiger, Kyle Walker, Thomas Soucek, Phil Foden, Declan Rice. 

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.