Contact Us
Top banner desktop

NBA 2022-23 Awards list

Check out the NBA 2022-23 Awards list. The NBA 2022–23 season was jam-packed with exciting events, breathtaking performances, and enduring accomplishments.

Last updated: 05.07.2023
NBA 2022-23 Awards list

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The NBA 2022–23 season was jam-packed with exciting events, breathtaking performances, and enduring accomplishments. The league recognized the top players and coaches at the end of the season who stood out among their contemporaries and had a major effect on their clubs and the game.


The full list of winners and finalists for the main NBA awards for the 2022–23 season is shown below:


Kia NBA Most Valuable Player: Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers)

After Hakeem Olajuwon in 1994, the Cameroonian center became the second African player to earn the MVP award. With 33.1 points scored per game, Embiid was the league's top scorer. He also had 10.2 rebounds and 4.2 assists per game. He aided the Philadelphia 76ers to the conference playoffs and the third-best record in the Eastern Conference.


●      Nikola Jokic (Denver Nuggets)

●      Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)

Kia NBA Defensive Player of the Year: Jaren Jackson Jr. (Memphis Grizzlies)

The 24-year-old big led the league in blocks per game with 3.1, earning him his first DPOY honor. Additionally, he had averages of 16.8 points, 7.9 rebounds, and 1.4 steals. He served as the defensive cornerstone for the Grizzlies, who finished fourth in defensive rating and advanced to the postseason for the second consecutive season.


●      Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)

●      Bam Adebayo (Miami Heat)

Kia NBA Rookie of the Year: Paolo Banchero (Orlando Magic)

The 2022 draft's second overall selection lived up to the expectations by becoming the first Magic player to win the ROY. Banchero led rookies in scoring, was second in rebounding, and was third in assists with 20.0 points, 6.9 rebounds, and 3.7 assists per game. He also had field-goal percentages of 48.7%, three-point percentages of 37.8%, and free-throw percentages of 82.6%.


●      Walker Kessler (Charlotte Hornets)

●      Bennedict Mathurin (San Antonio Spurs)

Kia NBA Sixth Man of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon (Indiana Pacers)

The 29-year-old guard received his first Sixth Man honor after spending most of the season on the bench and igniting the Pacers' offence. In addition to shooting 46.9% from the field, 40.8% from three-point range, and 90.1% from the free-throw line, Brogdon averaged 18.7 points, 5.4 assists, and 4.3 rebounds per game.


●      Jordan Clarkson (Utah Jazz)

●      Tyler Herro (Miami Heat)

Kia NBA Most Improved Player: Lauri Markkanen (Utah Jazz)

After enjoying a stellar year with his new team, the Jazz, the Finnish forward received his first MIP award. In addition to shooting a career-high 50.3% from the field, 44.6% from three-point range, and 85.7% from the free-throw line, Markkanen averaged 19.8 points, 8.7 rebounds, and 1.9 assists per game. He aided the Jazz in finishing with the league's best record and winning the conference championship.


●      Christian Wood (Houston Rockets)

●      RJ Barrett (New York Knicks)

Kia NBA Clutch Player of the Year: De’Aaron Fox (Sacramento Kings)

The quick point guard, who led the league in clutch scoring with 5.6 points per game in games when the score was within five points in the final five minutes of regulation or overtime, received his first Clutch Player honor. In addition, Fox shot a career-high 48.1% from the floor and averaged 25.3 points, 7.8 assists, and 1.5 steals per game overall.


●      Damian Lillard (Portland Trail Blazers)

●      Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks)

NBA Coach of the Year: Mike Brown (Sacramento Kings)

The seasoned coach led the Kings to an unexpected playoff appearance for the first time since 2006, earning him his second Coach of the Year honor. With Brown in charge, the Kings finished the season 48-34, enough for seventh place in the league and a 19-win improvement over the year prior. Additionally, he contributed to the growth of Fox, Tyrese Haliburton, and Marvin Bagley III's youthful core.


●      Mark Daigneault (Oklahoma City Thunder)

●      Joe Mazzulla (Boston Celtics)

NBA Social Justice Champion: Stephen Curry (Golden State Warriors)

The first-ever Social Justice Champion award, which recognizes a player for advancing social justice and supporting racial equality and diversity, was given to the three-time NBA champion and two-time MVP. In support of social justice issues including voting rights, education, gender equality, and criminal justice reform, Curry has been outspoken. Additionally, he has supported several organizations and projects that empower marginalized areas by using his platform and resources.


●      Carmelo Anthony (Los Angeles Lakers)

●      Harrison Barnes (Sacramento Kings)

●      Tobias Harris (Philadelphia 76ers)

●      Jrue Holiday (Milwaukee Bucks)


The NBA 2022–23 Awards list highlights the league's top performers who have succeeded both on and off the court. The winners and finalists have shown their aptitude, leadership, commitment, and influence on the sport and society.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.