Contact Us
Top banner desktop

When Australia became world champions for the fifth time in history

29th March, 2015 - The day when Australians became the world champions for the fifth time in history. Australia defeated New Zealand by 7 wickets in hand to lift the world cup for the fifth time in their history.

Last updated: 30.03.2021
When Australia became world champions for the fifth time in history | Sports Social Blog

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

29th March, 2015 – New Zealand has finally entered the finals for the first-time ever in their history and up against the most dangerous team ever in the world cup tournament history Australia. It’s not easy to win 5 World Cups in the history of cricket the most by any team ever so far. If there is the team with such authority then it must be Australia without the shadow of doubt.


Few days ago, New Zealand has ended the campaign of South Africa in the most thrilling semi-final games ever which was almost the south Africa game but Grant Elliot was hero for New Zealand and Villain for South Africa in the crucial moments to snatch the victory from the jaws of defeat and helped New Zealand to enter the finals for the first-time ever.



The tournament co-host by New Zealand and Australia after the 1992 world cup. Following the last world cup format 14 teams were featured with five associate nations (Afghanistan made the debut in this world cup). In the group stage round, England was shockingly knocked out by the Bangladesh team entering the super eight stage along with major test playing nations where they eventually lost to men in blue by 109 runs.


The super eight matches were almost one sided or teams have won easily by the big margin of runs. The four best teams of the tournament were featured in the semi-finals India, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand and the teams have lived up to the expectations of the fans with the kind of semi-final matches expected. The second semi-final was pretty much a one sided affair where the Australia team at last has ended the unbeaten streak of men in blue to bring their campaign to an end in the world cup tournament.


The stage was set for another final of a 50-over tournament between the co-host Australia and New Zealand. Sadly I wanted the South Africa team to play New Zealand in the finals but even Australia was my favourite team so any of them winning the world cup was the best thing to have ever happened. The kind of the players in these teams and the brand of cricket they have played in the 2015 world cup was completely surreal.


Brendon McCullum, Dale Steyn, Mitchell Johnson and Mitchell Starc these names are not ordinary like others in the cricket world they bring the emotions of uncertainty. The black-kaps have won the toss and decided to bat first without any surprise. It was the final and no team ever wants to chase the target against the team like Australia – they are the predators. The expectations were high from the player like Brendon McCullum who was playing his last world cup innings and opened the innings alongside Martin Guptill (who scored double hundred in the same world cup earlier).


Mitchell Starc provided the early dent into the New Zealand line-up from which they never recovered back


It was the third ball when Starc with the quick in-swinger had ripped off the stumps of Brendon McCullum to stunned the crowd. The man playing his last world cup innings going away like this was the heartbroken moment. With three down at the score of 39 runs New Zealand was at complete backfoot.


Ross Taylor and Grant Elliott provided the resistance with 111 runs partnership for the fourth wicket before Ross Taylor wicket triggered the collapse and New Zealand lost its remaining 7 wickets under the score of 33 runs. Grant Elliott was the highest run scorer from New Zealand 83 runs but couldn't get the support of any other players.


Australia was given the easy target of 184 runs in the 50 overs which they had chased down with 7 wickets in hand to lift the world cup for the fifth time in their history.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.