Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Deodhar Trophy 2023: Utkarsh Singh, Priyank Panchal, Harvik Desai, Vidwath Kaverappa Shine Opening Day, East Zone, West Zone And South Zone Win

On the first day of the Deodhar Trophy 2023, East Zone, West Zone and South Zone recorded comfortable victories against their opponents.

Sandipan Ghosh
Last updated: 24.07.2023
Day 1 Deodhar Trophy 2023

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

On the first day of the Deodhar Trophy 2023, East Zone, West Zone and South Zone recorded comfortable victories against their opponents.

Central Zone vs East Zone (Check the brief scores below)

After East Zone captain Saurabh Tiwary chose to field first, Central Zone managed to score 207 runs in 50 overs before getting all out. Rinku Singh scored 54 runs in that innings, while the opener Aryan Juyal (39*) and Karn Sharma (32) reached the 30-run mark.


Opener Juyal initially retired hurt for 23 runs when Central Zone scored 29/0. However, he ultimately returned to the crease when his team was struggling at 188/9 in 46.5 overs.

Three East Zone bowlers bagged three wickets each in that first innings. Those bowlers were Manisankar Murasingh (3/29), Shahbaz Ahmed (3/30) and Akash Deep (3/35).

In reply, opener Utkarsh Singh played a massive role for East Zone to secure a comfortable victory. Singh scored 89 runs off 104 balls (11 fours and three sixes), while his opening partner Abhimanyu Easwaran managed 38 runs, and Subhranshu Senapati remained not out on 33 runs. The opening partnership added 91 runs to smooth the chase.

Though Karn Sharma bagged three wickets lately (3/35), he couldn’t get proper support from the other bowlers. East Zone ultimately chased the target in 46.1 overs after losing four wickets.

North East Zone vs West Zone (Check the brief scores below)

In the other game, the West Zone captain sent the North East Zone to bat first. North East Zone also struggled in the first batting as they were bowled out for 207 runs in 47 overs. Lower-order batter Imliwati Lemtur (38) and captain Langlonyamba Meitan Keishangbam (30) scored the 30s, while the team also had four more 20s, but all the batters failed to capitalise after getting set at the crease.

Arzan Nagwaswalla collected three wickets in the first innings (3/31), while Shivam Dube (2/36) and Shams Mulani (2/37) took two wickets each.

Openers Harvik Desai and captain Priyank Panchal set up a fine 167-run partnership inside 22 overs as West Zone had no trouble at chasing. While Desai was dismissed for 85 runs in 71 balls (14 fours), unlucky Priyank was not out on 99 runs in just 69 balls with the help of seven fours and seven sixes.

West Zone reached the target in 25.1 overs after losing only one wicket as Lee Yong Lepcha (1/29) took that wicket.

South Zone vs North Zone (Check the brief scores below)

After South Zone chose to bat first in the day/night game, openers Rohan Kunnummal and captain Mayank Agarwal brought a 117-run partnership for the first wicket. Mayank scored 64 runs off 68 balls (seven fours), while Kunnummal scored 70 runs in 61 balls (eight fours and three sixes).

The wicketkeeper-batter Narayan Jagadeesan was the highest run-scorer in that innings with 72 runs in 66 balls (four fours and three sixes). Also, Ricky Bhui scored 31 runs, and Arun Karthik scored 21 runs as South Zone managed 303/8 in 50 overs.

Among the North Zone bowlers, Rishi Dhawan (2/30) and Mayank Markande (2/53) got two wickets each.

Even before rain interrupted the second innings multiple times, North Zone were already struggling on 24/4 as Vidwath Kaverappa already had a fiery spell by picking up all the four wickets.

Finally, North Zone got the revised target of 246 runs from 28 overs, while the team was struggling at 55/7 in 19 overs. Ultimately, North Zone were bundled out for only 60 runs in 23 overs, where only Mandeep Singh (18*) and opener Shubham Khajuria (10) managed double-digit scores.

Vidwath Kaverappa finished the night with the bowling figures 6-1-17-5. Vijaykumar Vyshak (2/8) also had two wickets in that successful defending.

Deodhar Trophy 2023: Day 1 (24 July 2023)

Central Zone vs East Zone (Day match)

Central Zone: 207 in 50 overs (Rinku Singh 54, Aryan Juyal 39*; Manisankar Murasingh 3/29)

East Zone: 208/4 in 46.1 overs (Utkarsh Singh 89, Abhimanyu Easwaran 38; Karn Sharma 3/35)

Result: East Zone won by 6 wickets (with 23 balls remaining)

North East Zone vs West Zone (Day match)

North East Zone: 207 in 47 overs (Imliwati Lemtur 38, Langlonyamba Meitan Keishangbam 30; Arzan Nagwaswalla 3/31)

West Zone: 208/1 in 25.1 overs (Priyank Panchal 99*, Harvik Desai 85; Lee Yong Lepcha 1/29)

Result: West Zone won by 9 wickets (with 149 balls remaining)

South Zone vs North Zone (Day/Night match)

South Zone: 303/8 in 50 overs (Narayan Jagadeesan 72, Rohan Kunnummal 70; Rishi Dhawan 2/30)

North Zone (Final Revised Target: 246 runs from 28 overs): 60 in 23 overs (Mandeep Singh 18*, Shubham Khajuria 10; Vidwath Kaverappa 5/17)

Result: South Zone won by 185 runs (VJD method)

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.