Contact Us
Top banner desktop

List of the major domestic cricket tournaments in India

Here is a list of officially recognized domestic cricket tournaments and competitions in India. Ranji Trophy is the biggest domestic tournament in India named after Ranjith Singh Ji and first conducted in 1934.

Last updated: 07.04.2020
Domestic Cricket Tournaments India | Sports Social Blog

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

India is a country where Cricket is one of the most accepted and played sports. There are many international as well as domestic cricket matches that are played in this country. 


Here is the list of the major domestic cricket tournaments that are happening in India each year:



1. Ranji Trophy:

Ranji Trophy is the biggest domestic tournament that is happening in India every year. This tournament is the first-class domestic tournament that is played between the regional and state cricket associations. There is a total of 38 teams playing, including the teams representing the 28 state associations as well as 4 union territories. The tournament is named after the former Indian international Ranjith Singhji and the maiden tournament was conducted in the year 1934. Mumbai cricket association holds the record of most titles with a total of 41 in their trophy cabinet.

2. Duleep Trophy:

Duleep trophy is a first-class domestic championship held in India. It was previously played between the different geographical zones in the country. But after the season of 2015-2016, the teams playing in the tournament are selected by the BCCI panel. India Red are the defending champions and the first edition was played in the year 1961.


3. Vijay Hazare Trophy:

Vijay Hazare trophy can be said to be a one day Ranji Trophy championship. This tournament is a limited over tournament which was started in the year 2003-2004. The teams which are playing in the Ranji Trophy are the participants of this tournament. The tournament proceeds in a Round Robin and Playoff’s format. Tamil Nadu is the most successful team with a total of 5 titles to date.


4. Deodhar Trophy:

Deodhar Trophy is a List A cricket tournament in India which is named after D.B Deodhar, who is known as the grand old man of Indian cricket. It is a 50 over tournament which follows the pattern of knockout. The teams which are competing against are three national teams named, India A, India B, India C. The first edition of this tournament took place in the season 1973-1974.


5. Irani Cup:

Irani Cup was conceived during the season of 1959-1960 in order to celebrate the 25 successful years of Ranji Trophy. Later on, the Irani cup is also considered as a qualification to play in the Ranji trophies. This tournament is played between the defending champions of Ranji Trophy and the Rest of the India team annually.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.