Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Top 5 players with most runs in Ranji Trophy history

In this article, check out the top 5 players with most runs in Ranji Trophy history. Wasim Jaffer holds the record for the most runs in Ranji Trophy history.

Last updated: 04.06.2023
players with most runs in Ranji Trophy history

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The Ranji Trophy, India's premier domestic cricket tournament, has a rich history spanning over eight decades. Many legendary cricketers have showcased their skills and amassed impressive batting records in this prestigious competition. 

Here are the top five players with the most runs in Ranji Trophy history:

1. Wasim Jaffer: 


Wasim Jaffer holds the record for the most runs in Ranji Trophy history. The prolific Mumbai batsman played a remarkable 156 matches from 1996 to 2020 and scored a staggering 12,038 runs at an average of 51.19. Jaffer's elegant strokeplay and impeccable technique helped him accumulate a record number of runs, including 40 centuries and 57 fifties.

2. Amol Muzumdar: 

Amol Muzumdar is widely regarded as one of the most consistent batsmen in Indian domestic cricket. Representing Mumbai, he piled up 11,167 runs in 171 matches at an impressive average of 48.13. Muzumdar's Ranji Trophy career spanned from 1993 to 2014, during which he scored 30 centuries and 60 half-centuries.

3. Devendra Bundela: 

Devendra Bundela, a stalwart for Madhya Pradesh, is third on the list of highest run-scorers in Ranji Trophy history. Bundela played a remarkable 145 matches from 1995 to 2017 and accumulated 10,818 runs at an average of 40.77. Known for his gritty batting style and ability to anchor the innings, he scored 31 centuries and 51 fifties during his career.

4. Faiz Fazal: 

Fazal made his debut in first-class cricket in 2003 for Vidarbha, his home team. Initially, he had a slow start to his career, but his determination and hard work eventually paid off. Fazal's leadership qualities were recognized by Vidarbha Cricket Association, and he was appointed as the captain of the Vidarbha team in the 2015-2016 season. Under his captaincy, Vidarbha achieved unprecedented success in the Ranji Trophy. In the 2017-2018 season, Vidarbha won their maiden Ranji Trophy title, and Fazal played a crucial role in their triumph. Faiz played 130 matches and scored 9128 runs at an average of 41.68. He scored 24 centuries and 39 half centuries during his stint.

5. Yashpal Singh: 

Yashpal Singh is an Indian cricketer who plays for Sikkim in domestic cricket. Yashpal scored 8700 runs in his stint as Ranji player.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.