Contact Us
Top banner desktop

CONCACAF: Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football

CONCACAF: The Governing Body of Football in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean. Learn about its history, members, governance, competitions and its role in promoting the sport in the region.

Last updated: 20.05.2024

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football is known as CONCACAF. It is one of the six continental confederations that make up FIFA (Fédération Internationale de Football Association), the world's football governing organization. It oversees the sport in North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

With 41 member associations representing nations, including the United States, Mexico, Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica, and many others, CONCACAF was founded in 1961 and has since developed into one of the most significant football federations in the world



The Football Confederation of Central America and the Caribbean (CCCF) and the North American Football Confederation (NAFC) merged to form CONCACAF, or the Confederation of North, Central America, and Caribbean Association Football, in 1961. The new group's objectives included encouraging the growth of football and soccer in the area and giving member associations a common ground on which to cooperate.

CONCACAF once struggled to become a significant football organization. Nevertheless, the 1970s witnessed substantial growth and expansion as new member associations joined and the CONCACAF Championship was established.


With 41 member associations and a variety of regional championships, CONCACAF is currently one of the most significant football federations in the world. The organization is committed to growing the sport in the area and giving individuals and teams the chance to compete at the highest levels. 

Here is a list of all the members of CONCACAF:

Antigua and Barbuda


Saint Lucia



Saint Vincent and the Grenadines



Sint Maarten






Trinidad and Tobago



Turks and Caicos Islands



United States

Cayman Islands


US Virgin Islands

Costa Rica








British Virgin Islands




Dominican Republic

Puerto Rico


El Salvador

Saint Kitts and Nevis




The President, General Secretary, Executive Committee, Congress, and various committees oversee CONCACAF. The Concacaf Council governs CONCACAF, while the Concacaf Congress is its supreme body. The Concacaf Council can be stretched up to 15 members, including the President, three vice-presidents, three Member Associations Members etc. 

The CONCACAF Council-appointed General Secretary also acts as the chief executive officer of CONCACAF.


Organizing and managing regional competitions and tournaments is one of CONCACAF's most significant responsibilities. The CONCACAF Gold Cup, which is held every two years, is the most prestigious event for national teams on the continent and arguably the most well-known of these. The Gold Cup is a significant event for football and soccer enthusiasts in the region and comprises 16 teams, including the best teams from North America, Central America, and the Caribbean.

Here is a list of key competitions organized by CONCACAF:  

  1. CONCACAF Gold Cup (National teams' competition)

  2. CONCACAF Nations League (National teams' competition)

  3. CONCACAF Champions Cup (Clubs' competition)

  4. CONCACAF Leagues Cup (Clubs' competition)

  5. CONCACAF Caribbean Cup (Clubs' competition)

  6. CONCACAF Women's Championship (National teams' competition)

  7. CONCACAF Futsal Championship (National teams' competition)

  8. CONCACAF Beach Soccer Championship (National teams' competition)

  9. CONCACAF Under-20 Championship (National teams' competition)

  10. CONCACAF Under-17 Championship (National teams' competition)

  11. CONCACAF Boys' Under-15 Championship (National teams' competition)


In general, CONCACAF is essential to the growth and promotion of soccer/football in the Caribbean, Central America, and North America. CONCACAF helps to provide a solid basis for the sport and makes sure that it continues to flourish on the continent and beyond by giving individuals and teams the chance to take part at the highest levels.

Development Program

The Concacaf NextPlay program is driven by the Confederation's goal to inspire a love for football and expand opportunities for children to play the sport across our 41 Member Associations.

By leveraging the power of football, CONCACAF promotes values, leadership, and healthy lifestyles. The objective is to establish an official Football and Education School Program within the public school system. This initiative seeks to engage local communities in meaningful and sustainable ways, using football as a tool for education and fostering positive social change.


Official CONCACAF Website: CONCACAF website

Instagram Handle: CONCACAF Instagram

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.