Contact Us

FIFA Club World Cup 2023 Teams & Fixtures

The 2023 FIFA Club World Cup will be hosted by Saudi Arabia from 12 December 2023. Check out here the teams and fixtures.

Last updated: 05.12.2023
FIFA Club World Cup 2023: Teams & Fixtures

The 20th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup is set to take place in Saudi Arabia and will be competed between the winners of six confederations. This will be the last seven-team Club World Cup to be hosted annually. The tournament will be expanded to 32 teams from the next edition in 2025 and it will take place on a quadrennial basis or every four years. Real Madrid were the winners of the 2022 FIFA Club World Cup.

The 2023 edition will kick off on 12 December 2023 with the game between Saudi Pro League winners Al-Ittihad and OFC Champions League holders Auckland City at the King Abdullah Sports City in Jeddah.  The competition will run until the final scheduled on 22 December 2023 played at the same venue as the opener. A total of seven matches will be played in the competition.

Copa Libertadores champions Fluminense and 2022-23 Champions League winners Manchester City have gotten a direct berth to the semifinals of the 2023 Club World Cup. All of the participating teams except Al-Ittihad, who are the club from the host nation in this edition, have made it to the 2025 edition as well with confederation winners of every four years from 2021 qualifying to that tournament.  


Teams and Confederation 


Fluminense - CONMEBOL

Brazilian club Fluminense won their first-ever Copa Libertadores title or the highest competition in South American club football in November 2023. A long-awaited triumph for the age-old club that was founded in 1902. As a case of winning the Libertadores, Fluminense qualified for the 2023 Club World Cup as well as the next edition in 2025. Hence, it was a historical achievement for the Tricolors.  


Manchester City - UEFA

The same goes for Manchester City who finally fulfilled their desire of winning the Champions League for the first time last season since their Abu Dhabi takeover in 2008. They also beat the Club World Cup holders Real Madrid in the semi-finals of the Champions League and Inter in the showpiece to lift the trophy. It is the first Club World Cup participation for the Premier League holders.


Urawa Red Diamonds - AFC

Joining them will be Urawa Red Diamonds from Asia who beat record holders Al Hilal in the two-legged AFC Champions League final back in May. It was the third continental triumph for the Japanese side. Hence, Urawa Red Diamonds are also making it into the Club World Cup for the third time after playing the editions of 2007 and 2017 before. Their best showing was in their debut participation when they reached the semifinals only to be beaten narrowly by AC Milan.      


Al Ahly - CAF

Winners of the 2022–23 CAF Champions League, Al Ahly will be making their ninth appearance in the FIFA Club World Cup since its inception and for the third successive edition for the first time. In the last edition, the club from Egypt qualified as the hosts by taking the 2021-22 CAF CL winner Wydad Casablanca slot who also qualified while the rest of the participation has been by winning that competition. They have won three of their last four continental titles while they are record champions with 11 titles to their name. Al Ahly’s best Club World Cup finishes have been third-place which they achieved thrice.   



Mexican club León will be making their debut in the Club World Cup after winning the CONCACAF Champions League for the first time this year. The Green and Whites defeated MLS outfit Los Angeles FC in the two-legged final back in June to grab the trophy. They will take on AFC champions Urawa Red Diamonds in the second-round matches. The winners of that game will face Manchester City in the semifinals.        


Auckland City - OFC   

The most appearance maker in the Club World Cup among the participating nations in 2023 is Auckland City. The OFC Champions League holders extended their record to 10 titles this year and are once again representing Oceania on the world stage. The almost mainstay club from New Zealand in the Club World Cup achieved its highest finish in 2014 when they finished third beating CONCACAF Champions League winners Cruz Azul on penalties.   


Al-Ittihad - AFC (Host)

Saudi league champions Al-Ittihad have qualified for the 2023 Club World Cup to represent the hosts, Saudi Arabia. This is their second appearance in the competition with the other one being in 2005 in the debut edition. The Tigers made their way to the semifinals back then, losing a 3-2 thriller to Brazilian club São Paulo. Al-Ittihad will face Auckland City in the opener with the winners going to face Al-Ahly in the second round. The victors will then go on to face Fluminense in the semifinals.          



Tuesday, 12 December 2023

Al-Ittihad vs Auckland City - King Abdullah Sports City, Jeddah (23:30)


Friday, 15 December 2023

León vs Urawa Red Diamonds - Prince Abdullah Al-Faisal Sports City, Jeddah (20:00)

Al Ahly vs Al-Ittihad/Auckland City - King Abdullah Sports City, Jeddah (23:30)


Monday, 18 December 2023

Fluminense vs Al Ahly/Al-Ittihad/Auckland City - King Abdullah Sports City, Jeddah (23:30)

Tuesday, 19 December 2023

León/Urawa Red Diamonds vs Manchester City - King Abdullah Sports City, Jeddah (23:30)


Friday, 22 December 2023  

Loser SF1 vs Loser SF2 - Prince Abdullah Al-Faisal Sports City, Jeddah (20:00)

Winner SF 1 vs Winner SF2 - King Abdullah Sports City, Jeddah (23:30)

Chase Your Sport

Sports Social Blog: Chase Your Sport aims to create a sustainable platform for Indian sports lovers to provide latest updates on Indian Sports Trends, analytics, career in sports & health & fitness tips