Contact Us

FIFA Club World Cup 2025: Qualified Teams till now

The newly expanded FIFA Club World Cup in 2025 will have 32 teams competing for the trophy. Check out here the list of qualified teams.

Moinak Banerjee
Last updated: 10.03.2024
List of Qualified Teams in FIFA Club World Cup 2025

The annually organized FIFA Club World Cup will have a complete transformation from its 21st edition. Till now, the winners of the six confederations and the champion club from the host nation used to take part in the contest. After the expansion, a total of 32 teams will take part in the competition including the winners of the four previous continental championships of each federation and other best-ranked sides. Also, the tournament will be played every four years coinciding with the World Cup of international teams. 

As a case, the 2023 Club World Cup which was won by Manchester City was the last one in its present format. The first edition of the expanded format will take place in 2025 with the United States chosen as the host, a year before they also host the Men’s World Cup. The host cities are yet to be decided. FIFA announced the launch of the new Club World Cup in 2019 but the tournament could not be held because of the pandemic situation in host China back then. The Club World Cup will take place from June 15 to July 13, 2025.     

The FIFA Council approved the slot allocation of the six confederations for the 2025 Club World Cup back in February 2023. UEFA was awarded the most slots with 12, CONMEBOL with six while OFC received just one slot. AFC, CAF and CONCACAF got four slots each. The qualifying principles will follow a four-year process from 2021 to 2024. The 32 teams qualified for the tournament will be divided into 8 groups of 4 teams with the top 2 teams in each group qualifying to the knockout stage.

Here are the teams that have qualified for the FIFA Club World Cup 2025 so far:

UEFA (12 slots)

The UEFA Champions League winners from 2021 to 2024 will represent Europe at the 2025 Club World Cup alongside the eight best-ranked sides in the UEFA four-year coefficient rankings other than the winners of that period. Only two teams from each association are allowed to participate unless there is an additional continental winner from the region. In that case, the country cap will be lifted.      

Chelsea (England) - 2020/21 Champions League winner

Chelsea has qualified for the 2025 Club World Cup by winning the Champions League in the 2021/22 season. The Blues won the title for the second time in their history and became the first side from Europe to qualify for the expanded version of the FIFA competition. Chelsea has been in two Club World Cup finals in three appearances, winning it once in 2022.   

Real Madrid (Spain) - 2021/22 Champions League winner

Record five-time winners Real Madrid will participate in the Club World Cup 2025 after winning their 13th Champions League title in 2022. Carlo Ancelotti's men would have qualified for the competition anyway because of their higher place in the UEFA 4-year coefficient ranking.        

Manchester City (England) - 2022/23 Champions League winner

Quenching their thirst for a first Champions League title in 2023, Manchester City has booked a berth in the 2025 Club World Cup. The Citizens will participate in the tournament for consecutive editions after debuting last year. Two teams are allowed per association so no more clubs from England can qualify with City’s qualification. However, the country cap will be lifted if Arsenal wins the present edition of the Champions League.      

Winners of the 2023–24 UEFA Champions League

The winners of the Champions League this season will also qualify for the Club World Cup next year. The Round of 16 stage is going on at the moment with Arsenal, PSV, Barcelona and Napoli are the only clubs required either to win the competition or make it to the latter stages to book a group stage berth on the world stage. Dortmund and Inter qualified via the four-year coefficient ranking so their Champions League faith will not affect their chances. 

Bayern Munich (Germany)

Bundesliga giants Bayern Munich have also made their way to the Club World Cup, coming third in the UEFA’s 4-year coefficient rankings but first into consideration as the top two, Manchester City and Real Madrid have both won the Champions League. The Bavarians will compete in the Club World Cup for the third time after winning the competition in 2013 and 2020.       

Paris Saint-Germain (France)

PSG are the sixth team to represent Europe with them the next best-ranked side. The Parisians will make their debut in the Club World Cup having not won the Champions League before. They will be the sole representative from France at the tournament.    

Inter Milan (Italy)

Joining them will be Italian giants Inter Milan whose magnificent run to the Champions League final, against all odds, boosted their coefficient rankings. This will be the second Club World Cup campaign having won the competition in their debut in 2010. The Nerazzurri will be joined by Napoli from the region should they win the Champions League otherwise record Serie A winners Juventus will make it through with a higher coefficient ranking.       

Porto (Portugal)

Two-time Champions League winners FC Porto will also travel to the USA next summer after consistent performance at the continental level. The Portuguese giants will play the Club World Cup for the first time after being among the top five teams in the UEFA’s 4-year coefficient rankings in consideration. Hence, their performance in this season’s Champions League will not matter in their qualification.  

Benfica (Portugal)

Porto’s rivals Benfica have also qualified for the Club World Cup courtesy of the coefficient rankings. For the first time, there will be representation from Portugal in the competition with these two giants from the region qualifying. Benfica’s consecutive quarterfinal appearance in the last two editions of the Champions League pave the way for a debut Club World Cup appearance.      

Dortmund (Germany)

The second club from Germany in the Club World Cup will be Borussia Dortmund who qualified in March this year after Bundesliga counterparts RB Leipzig failed to make it to the quarterfinals. Dortmund will also be making their debut in the competition.  


TBD - UEFA 4-year ranking (2)

Two more clubs from Europe will make it to the Club World Cup with representation from Italy and Spain guaranteed regardless due to higher coefficient rankings. Atletico Madrid and Juventus will qualify via the coefficient rankings but their fate will rely on either Napoli or Barcelona progressing to the latter rounds of the Champions League or winning the competition. Failure of the latter two to do so will see either of the former seal the country cap for their nation in the Club World Cup.        

CONCACAF (4 slots)

Monterrey (Mexico)

Seattle Sounders (USA)

Club Leon (Mexico)

Winners of the 2024 CONCACAF Champions Cup

CONMEBOL (6 slots)

Palmeiras (Brazil)

Flamengo (Brazil)

Fluminense (Brazil)

Winners of the 2024 Copa Libertadores

Best eligible team in CONMEBOL 4-year ranking

Second-best eligible team in CONMEBOL 4-year ranking

CAF (4 slots)

Al Ahly (Egypt)

Wydad (Morocco)

Winners of the 2023–24 CAF Champions League

Best eligible team in CAF 4-year ranking

AFC (4 slots)

Al-Hilal (Saudi Arabia)

Urawa Red Diamonds (Japan)

Winners of the 2023–24 AFC Champions League

Best eligible team in the AFC 4-year ranking

OFC (1 slot)

Auckland City (New Zealand)

CONCACAF (1 host slot)


Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.