Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Most successful teams in the Premier League

Manchester United, Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City, and Liverpool are the seven Premier League champions. Let's take a look at the most successful teams in the Premier League.

Last updated: 21.07.2021
Most successful teams in the Premier League

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The Premier League has risen to become the most popular league in the world since its inception in 1992-93. The Premier League has been around for 28 years. Only Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham Hotspur, and Everton have remained in the Premier League over that time. The 2020-21 Premier League season will be the 28th since 22 clubs split away from the Football League at the end of the 1991-92 season to form their own tournament. Since the rebranding in 1992, 49 different clubs have competed in the top division, with no new names since Brighton and Huddersfield were promoted in 2017.

Manchester United, Chelsea, Manchester City, Arsenal, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City, and Liverpool are the seven Premier League champions.  Only Tottenham has failed to win a league title in the Premier League era among the traditional 'Big Six.' So, without further ado, let’s take a look at the most successful teams in the Premier League.

1. Manchester United - 13 Premier League titles


Manchester United has a record of 13 Premier League titles, 12 FA Cups, five League Cups, and a record of 21 FA Community Shields, more than any other team in English football. Three European Cups/UEFA Champions Leagues, one UEFA Europa League, one UEFA Cup Winners' Cup, one UEFA Super Cup, one Intercontinental Cup, and one FIFA Club World Cup have also been won by United. United won four of the first five Premier League titles under Sir Alex Ferguson, with the exception of the 1994-95 season, when they were interrupted by big-spending Blackburn Rovers.

2. Chelsea - 5 Premier League titles

The ownership of Chelsea by Roman Abramovich in 2003 ushered in a new era of previously unmatched expenditure, as the Russian poured money into the club and was rewarded with the 2004-05 Premier League title. Chelsea has had the most successful two decades in its history. During this time, they have won the Premier League five times, the UEFA Champions League twice, and the UEFA Europa League twice.

3. Manchester City - 5 Premier League titles

Manchester City was the second club to defy the established order, as they, too, benefited from a takeover, winning their first Premier League title in 2011-12 at the Etihad. The squad won the Premier League in 2018 under Pep Guardiola's leadership, becoming the first Premier League side to reach 100 points in a single season. In 2019, they won four trophies, making them the first English men's team to win the domestic treble and completing an unprecedented sweep of all domestic trophies in England. They are also the Premier League champions at the moment.

4. Arsenal - 3 Premier League titles

With Arsene Wenger's revolution guiding them to victory in the 1997-98 season, Arsenal became the third different club to win the Premier League trophy, kicking off a long rivalry with Manchester United that lasted for the following seven years. The club has won 13 league titles, including three Premier League crowns, as well as a record 14 FA Cups, two League Cups, 16 FA Community Shields, the League Centenary Trophy, one European Cup Winners' Cup, one Inter-Cities Fairs Cup, and one European Cup Winners' Cup.

5. Blackburn Rovers - 1 Premier League title

Blackburn Rovers have won six FA Cups, one Football League Cup, and one Full Members' Cup, as well as being English champions three times (including Premier League champions in 1995). The team has spent most of its time in the English Premier League. After losing at home to Wigan Athletic in the penultimate game of the season on 7 May 2012, the team was relegated to the Championship, ending eleven years in the Premier League.

6. Leicester City - 1 Premier League title

Leicester won the Premier League for the first time in 2015–16, becoming one of only seven clubs to do so since the league's creation in 1992. Leicester's title win was dubbed "the greatest sporting shock in history" by several publications. They won the 2020/21 FA Cup and finished fifth in the Premier League after defeating Chelsea.

7. Liverpool - 1 Premier League title

With 18 league titles, Liverpool is one of England's most successful clubs, although they were criticised by many for failing to win the Premier League. However, that changed in 2019-20, when Jurgen Klopp's side won the Premier League for the first time. In total, the team has won nineteen League crowns, seven FA Cups, an unprecedented eight League Cups, and fifteen FA Community Shields in domestic competition.



Premier League titles won


Manchester United






Manchester City






Blackburn Rovers



Leicester City





Also Read | Youngest goal scorers in Premier League history

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.