Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Mohun Bagan 1-3 Mumbai City FC: Match facts of the 2023/24 ISL Final

Mumbai City FC came from behind to beat Mohun Bagan 3-1 to secure their second ISL trophy at Salt Lake. Check out the match facts of ISL 2023-24 Final.

Moinak Banerjee
Last updated: 04.05.2024
Mumbai City FC celebrations after winning ISL 2023-24

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The Islanders made a repeat of their 2020-21 final by coming from a goal behind to win the ISL Cup against the same opposition. They also sort redemption of their defeat in the final league game of the season at Salt Lake which cost them the Shield. Mohun Bagan failed to take the home advantage with the traveling side enjoying the night after a spectacular performance, especially in the second-half. 

Mumbai City started on a high, restricting the Green and Maroon to their box with continuous attack from both flanks. Lallianzuala Chhangte struck the post taking a deflection off Subhasish Bose while his free-kick also hit the crossbar. However, it was Mohun Bagan who struck first against the run of play prompting Mumbai City to come with a reaction.


Jason Cummings dinked over Phurba Lachenpa after he parried Dimitri Petratos's long ranger straight into his path. However, Mumbai City made sure that they do not come up short this time. Jorge Diaz leveled the score early in the second-half with Bipin Singh, off the bench, giving the lead to the Islanders with another goal in the final in the same fixture. Another substitute Jakob Vojtus made sure of the victory with a third goal for Mumbai City FC in the stoppage time. 

Match facts from the ISL 2023/24 Final

  • Bipin Singh has become only the second player to score in multiple ISL finals after Sunil Chettri in 2017/18 and 2022-23 season. The winger though have  ended on the winning side each time.

  • Mumbai City became only the second side to have scored 300 or more goals in ISL history. FC Goa tops the chart with 346 goals.

  • The Islanders have scored in each of their ten meetings against the Mariners.  This is their longest streak against any opposition in ISL history.

  • Mohun Bagan are the fourth ISL side to suffer defeat in the final that has been hosted in their home stadium after FC Goa (2015), Kerala Blasters (2016) and Bengaluru FC (2018).

  • Antonio Lopez Habas is making his fourth ISL appearance which is more than any coach in the league history.

  • Mariners have scored from first in each of their last 10 ISL matches. This was the third defeat for them in this period while the rest have ended in victories.

  • Rahul Bheke made his 150 appearance in the ISL in the final of the tenth season. He became only the sixth player to reach this mark in the league history.

  • Manvir Singh made his fourth appearance in ISL final which is the joint most by any player in the league. He matches the tally of former teammates Pritam Kotal and Sandesh Jhingan.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.