Contact Us

Most number of IPL matches as captain

There are also many players who have shown their abilities in captaincy in these 12 editions of IPL. Here is the list of the top 5 players who have played the most number of matches as captain in the IPL history.

Last updated: 26.03.2024
Most matches as IPL captain | Sports Social Blog

Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the most viewed and accepted T20 tournaments all across the globe. There are many marvellous and memorable performances, which have taken place in the history of the IPL. Many players have also shown their strong abilities in captaincy in the IPL tournaments.


Here is the list of the most number of IPL matches as captain (top 5):

1. MS Dhoni: 226 matches

MS Dhoni is one of the best captains in the entire cricket history. This amazing player is the captain of the IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and has the record of playing the most number of matches as the captain in IPL history too. He also led the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiants for a season. With a total of five IPL titles on his shelf, Dhoni is also one of the most successful captains in IPL history. MS Dhoni has played 250 matches in IPL, where he was the skipper for a total of 226 matches. In his IPL captaincy, Dhoni managed to win 133 games and has one of the highest win percentages as an IPL captain (58.84%).


2. Rohit Sharma: 158 matches

Captain of Mumbai Indians (MI) Rohit Sharma is one of the most successful captains in IPL history, who led the Mumbai franchise to win five IPL trophies and one Champions League T20 title. Out of his 240+ IPL matches, Rohit has played the captaincy role in 158 fixtures. As an IPL captain, Rohit won 87 games with a 55.06 winning percentage.


3. Virat Kohli: 143 matches

Virat Kohli has his name in most of the cricket book records. The leading IPL run-scorer is also known as one of the top IPL captains despite not winning a title. While he has played 200+ IPL matches, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) legend captained 143 IPL games. His IPL captaincy enjoyed 66 victories with a winning percentage of 46.15.


4. Gautam Gambhir: 129 matches

Gautam Gambhir was one of the greatest IPL captains in the early period of this competition’s history. Apart from successfully leading Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), where the team won two IPL trophies under his leadership, Gambhir also captained Delhi Daredevils (present name Delhi Capitals). In his 154 IPL matches, Gambhir captained 129 games, where he recorded 71 wins with a winning percentage of 55.03. 


5. David Warner: 83 matches

Australian cricketer David Warner is another successful leader in IPL history. In 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won their first IPL trophy under Warner’s incredible captaincy. Warner is also leading the Delhi Capitals. After playing 170+ IPL matches, Warner has played the captaincy role in 83 IPL games, including winning 40 matches (winning percentage 48.19%).

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.