Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Highest Scores in IPL | Top 5 highest team scores in IPL

A look at the top five highest team totals in the Indian Premier League History. The highest-ever score in IPL has a run rate of more than 14 runs per over.

Last updated: 24.04.2024
Top 5 highest team scores in IPL | Sports Social Blog

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest sports extravaganza in the cricket world. Chasing an average score itself is a difficult task in a game like T20. Then imagine team totals, which are already above 14 runs per over. Quite a crazy thing, right? 

Here is the list of the top 5 team scores in IPL history: (List of the highest individual score in IPL: here)


1. SunRisers Hyderabad (287/3):   

Image Credit: X
Image Credit: X

Less than a month after their record IPL total of 277/3, SunRisers Hyderabad broke their previous record and set up a new IPL total record with 287/3 in 20 overs against Royal Challengers Bengaluru at Bengaluru in the IPL 2024. After RCB chose to field first, SRH openers Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma provided a fiery start with 79/0 at the end of the powerplay. Soon, they set up the 108-run opening partnership before Sharma’s (34 in 22 balls) wicket in the ninth over. While Head recorded the fastest SRH century in 39 balls and scored 102 off 41 balls (nine fours and eight sixes), Heinrich Klaasen scored 67 runs off 31 balls with the help of two fours and seven sixes. Also, Aiden Markram's (32 not out in 17 balls; two fours and two sixes) and Abdul Samad’s (37 not out in 10 balls; four fours and three sixes) cameos had important roles in that record IPL total. 

2. SunRisers Hyderabad (277/3):  

It was the eighth match of the IPL 2024, where SunRisers Hyderabad thrashed the 11-year-old IPL record to set up a new highest IPL total with 277/3 (20 overs) against the five-time IPL winners Mumbai Indians. After Mumbai Indians captain Hardik Pandya chose to field first at Hyderabad, SRH batters Travis Head (62 off 24 balls), Abhishek Sharma (63 off 23 balls), Aiden Markram (42 not out off 28 balls), and Heinrich Klaasen (80 not out off 34 balls) just outclassed the MI bowlers. After Travis Head recorded the fastest fifty for SRH by completing it in 18 balls, Abhishek soon broke that record with a 16-ball fifty.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders (272/7):   

Just a few days after SunRisers Hyderabad's remarkable 277/3, Kolkata Knight Riders had an astonishing innings against Delhi Capitals. After a 60-run opening partnership with Phil Salt, Sunil Narine continued his batting dominance with Angkrish Raghuvanshi and they had a 104-run partnership for the second wicket in just eight overs. While Narine scored 85 off just 39 balls and Angkrish shined with 54 off 27 balls, Andre Russell bashed Delhi bowlers in his 41 runs knock in just 19 balls. Rinku Singh also smashed 26 off only eight balls, as KKR finished the first innings with 272/7 in 20 overs. Later, KKR won that match by 106 runs after all out their opponents for 166 runs (17.2 overs).

4. SunRisers Hyderabad (266/7):  

In their epic IPL 2024 journey, SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) scored 250+ totals thrice in the IPL 2024. It was their match against Delhi Capitals during the 35th match in the IPL 2024 at Delhi, where SRH scored 266/7 in 20 overs. After Delhi Capitals chose to field first, SRH became the first team in IPL history to complete 100 runs in just the first five overs of the innings. After the openers, Travis Head (89 off 32 balls) and Abhishek Sharma (46 off 12 balls) thrashed Delhi Capitals' bowlers, Shahbaz Ahmed (59 not out off 29 balls) and Nitish Kumar Reddy (37 off 27 balls) also produced key supporting knock for SRH to set up the giant total. Capitals replied with 199 all out in 19.1 overs as SRH comfortably won by 67 runs.

5. Royal Challengers Bangalore (263/5):

Even though Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) have never won an IPL title yet, they have played some amazing games in IPL history. Recording the highest IPL team total came from such an unforgettable match. In the IPL 2013, RCB took the top position on this table. Against Pune Warriors India (PWI), RCB scored an unbeatable 263 runs after losing five wickets, and during that innings, Chris Gayle scored the marvellous 175 runs, which is still the highest score in T20 cricket history.



Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.