Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Top 5 most sixes in an innings by an IPL Team

When we talk about any top T20 cricket records, the Indian Premier League (IPL) always comes in the front row. We are now going through the top five most sixes in an innings by an IPL team.

CYS Desk
Last updated: 03.05.2024
Most sixes in an IPL innings

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

When we talk about any top T20 cricket records, the Indian Premier League (IPL) always comes in the front row. Sixes, or over-boundaries, are one of the key factors in a team’s success, especially in T20 cricket. We are now going through the top five most sixes in an innings by an IPL team.

Let’s check the record for most sixes in an innings by an IPL team.  

5: 20 sixes by RCB (vs GL in 2016):  

During the Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Gujarat Lions match in the IPL 2016 at Bengaluru, the RCB fans enjoyed the skipper Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers’ extraordinary batting performances. Both hit centuries in the first innings of the match, where Kohli scored 109 runs off 55 balls and de Villiers was not out on 129 runs off 52 balls. Kohli hit eight sixes and de Villiers smashed 12 over-boundaries in that innings, as RCB hit 20 sixes in that innings to score 248/3 in 20 overs. RCB won that match by 144 runs.  


4: 21 sixes by RCB (vs PWI in 2013):  

It was a special match in T20 cricket history, where Chris Gayle’s powerful batting performance energized modern cricket fans. It was the first T20 match where a team scored 260+ runs as Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 263/5 in 20 overs, largely thanks to Chris Gayle’s highest T20 score record of 175 not out in 66 balls. While Gayle smashed 17 sixes in that innings, RCB hit a total of 21 over-boundaries. RCB won that match by 130 runs after restricting Pune Warriors India to 133/9 (20 overs).  


3: 22 sixes by SRH (vs DC in 2024):  

During their IPL 2024 match against Delhi Capitals, SunRisers Hyderabad produced another strong batting performance. In that fixture, SRH scored 266/7 and won by 67 runs. After the openers, Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma provided a furious start, while Nitish Kumar Reddy and Shahbaz Ahmed helped the team manage a big total in the match. SRH smashed 22 sixes in that game, where Travis Head (6 sixes), Abhishek Sharma (6 sixes), and Shahbaz Ahmed (5 sixes) had at least five over-boundaries each.

2: 22 sixes by SRH (vs RCB in 2024):  

It was another IPL 2024 match where SunRisers Hyderabad batters were involved in thrashing the opponent bowlers. Travis Head’s furious century, Abhishek Sharma and Heinrich Klaasen’s proper support, and Aiden Markram and Abdul Samad’s successful cameos helped SRH set up the new IPL record total of 287/3 in 20 overs. During that record IPL innings, SRH hit 22 sixes, including Head and Klaasen’s eight and seven sixes, respectively. Hyderabad won that match against RCB by 25 runs, as the IPL fixture experienced the record-breaking highest match aggregate in T20 cricket history.

1: 24 sixes by PBKS (vs KKR in 2024):  

Kolkata Knight Riders vs Punjab Kings in IPL 2024 in Kolkata experienced a high-scoring encounter, which we hardly experienced before. While Punjab Kings settled the record for the highest successful T20 chase by reaching the 262-run target in 18.4 overs, the match also experienced the second-highest match aggregate in T20 cricket history. Not only the centurion, Jonny Bairstow, but the other PBKS batters equally performed dominantly in that successful T20 chase. Punjab Kings hit a total of 24 sixes in that game, where Jonny Bairstow and Shashank Singh smashed nine and eight sixes, respectively.  

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.