Contact Us
Top banner desktop

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: List of awards

In this article, we list the awards given on the final podium of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Last updated: 22.08.2023
List of awards

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

After a month-long period of dramas, thrills, spills, upset and record-breaking feats, the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup hosted by Australia and New Zealand came to a grand conclusion with Spain lifting the trophy for the very first time. Not only the winners but also runners-up England and the rest of the 30 teams, after the tournament was expanded for the first, etched historical moments to cherish in the competition.

As a result, the tournament was a huge success and it was all down to the incredible athletes who graced the pitch with their class. It was not impossible to reward all but each gave their all for the nations they represented on the world stage. Undoubtedly, champions Spain earned most of the individual awards aside from their collective triumph. This Cup also set the benchmark for future stars to script their tale.        

Young Player of the Tournament: Salma Paralluelo (Spain)


The 19-year-old already had a massive season with Barcelona scoring 11 goals in 18 matches and winning the treble including the Women’s Champions League. Before that, Paralluelo became a key contributor to Spain’s success at the age group levels of U17 and U20 last year. Now she has gone on to do it with the senior national team. 

Her main contribution in this tournament was her goal-scoring impact off the bench, the 111th-minute winner against the Netherlands in the quarterfinals and the crucial opener of the 2-1 last-four victory over Sweden. Salma also created the joint-most big chances in games with four.                    

Golden Ball Winner: Aitana Bonmati (Spain)

Becoming the best player in the Women’s Champions League last season, Aitana Bonmati now grabbed the honour in the biggest tournament of all with Spain. With compatriot and Ballon d’Or winner Alexia Putellas still finding her best after a long ACL injury layoff, the 25-year-old played a pivotal role in her team’s success. Her starring performance came in the last-16 tie against Switzerland where she directly contributed to four goals of the 5-1 win with a first-half brace and two assists. She was the fourth-most goal contributor in the tournament with a hand in five goals of the 18 Spain scored overall. Bonmati is the third European player to have won the Golden Ball after Birgit Prinz (Germany, 2003) and Hege Riise (Norway, 1995). Her teammate Jenni Hermoso won the Silver Ball after contributing to five goals (3 goals, 2 assists) as well for the team. Sweden’s centre-back Amanda Illestedt got the Bronze after contributing to her side’s third-place finish and scoring a remarkable four goals.                       


Golden Boot Winner: Hinata Miyazawa (Japan)

Japan’s wonder run to the quarterfinals of the 2023 Women’s World Cup was helped by Hinata Miyazawa’s outstanding finishing. Operating as an attacking midfielder but making runs beyond the defence line each time helped her score five goals in the tournament. Hence, winning the golden boot and levelling the scoring record set by her nation’s great Homare Sawa in 2011. The 23-year-old’s standout performance came against eventual winners Spain by bagging a brace and delivering an assist in the huge 4-0 victory. Miyazawa also finished the tournament with six goals contribution. Kadidatou Diani of France won the Silver Boot with four goals and also contributed to the most goals in the tournament with seven. Alexandra Popp picked up the Bronze Boot by hitting the same number despite Germany going out of the group stages.                   

Golden Glove Winner: Mary Earps (England)

Bailing England out of trouble from the first game of the tournament, Mary Earps almost gave her team a chance to crawl back into the game by becoming the first goalkeeper ever to save a penalty in World Cup final regulation time. The Manchester United shot-stopper kept three clean sheets and conceded just four goals in seven matches. She also carried a save percentage of 81%, fifth best record in the competition. This might have put her ahead of Australia’s Mackenzie Arnold who kept four clean sheets, most in the tournament, but conceded eight times. Zecira Musovic of Sweden also kept the same numbers as Earps. Undoubtedly, It was a World Cup for the goalkeepers.       


Fair Play Award: Japan

Japan won everyone’s hearts with their dazzling football which almost made them favorites to win the title this time. The Nadeshiko also hit top marks in their discipline as not until the quarterfinal tie against Sweden did they receive any booking. Remarkably, Striker Riko Ueki was the only player to receive a yellow card in the tournament for Japan. 

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.