Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Asian Games 2023 Men’s Football - India vs Myanmar Match Preview, Team News & Squads

A victory over Myanmar will see India make their way to the round of 16 of the Men’s Football Tournament in Asian Games 2023. Check out here India vs Myanmar match preview, team news and squads.

Last updated: 23.09.2023

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

India vs Myanmar Asian Games 2023 Match Details

Date: Sunday, 24 September 2023

Time: 17:00 (IST)

Venue: Xiaoshan Sports Center Stadium, Xiaoshan


India vs Myanmar Asian Games 2023 Match Preview 

Indian men’s team won at the Asian Games for the first time in nine years when they secured a 1-0 victory over Bangladesh in the second game of the 2023 competition. The last victory for the Blue Tigers was a 4-1 victory in the 2010 edition. Undoubtedly, captain Sunil Chhetri was the difference-maker with his late composed penalty giving India the breakthrough the team badly needed after losing the opener 5-1 to hosts China. The Dragons have already qualified for the knockout stages with Bangladesh eliminated. So, it leaves India and their next opponent Myanmar a fight for the second spot even though returning third could still allow them to qualify. Igor Stimac’s side did not have any training sessions before the game against Bangladesh as well because of the limited time period. With a two-day gap before the crucial tie against Myanmar, the team is expected to have one and be in better shape than the last two matches. India will be able to provide more with their play now they have additional depth in the squad as well as an increase in fitness.  

The revival of the Blue Tigers is a major worry for Myanmar whose opening-day win against Bangladesh did not help in any way as they lost 4-0 to China. Even their win against the Bangla Tigers was a slender one and that too from an own goal. With no goals scored by their players, Myanmar has a disadvantage in the overall goal scored to India who has two strikes so far. This is a particularly important stat because both teams are locked in the same points and the same goal difference from the first two matches. The number of goals scored by the teams will come into factor in their final group game against the Blue Tigers. A 1-1 draw will see India go through maintain their second spot on the table while third-place Myanmar requires help from elsewhere to qualify for the last 16. However, a victory will be on the agenda for the recent SAFF winners as they look to repeat the result against Myanmar in the Tri-Nation Cup back in March.          

India Squad

Goalkeepers: Gurmeet Singh (Hyderabad FC), Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem (FC Goa), Vishal Yadav (Jamshedpur FC)

Defenders: Sumit Rathi (Mohun Bagan Super Giant), Narender Gahlot (Odisha FC) Deepak Tangri (Mohun Bagan Super Giant), Sandesh Jhingan (FC Goa), Chinglensana Singh (Hyderabad FC), Lalchungnunga (East Bengal FC)

Midfielders/Wingers: Amarjit Singh Kiyam (Punjab FC), Samuel James (Punjab FC), Ayush Dev Chhetri (FC Goa), Abdul Rabeeh (Hyderabad FC), Rohit Danu (Bengaluru FC), Vincy Bareto (Chennaiyin FC), Azfar Noorani (Kenkre FC), Bryce Miranda (Kerala Blasters), Aniket Jadhav (Odisha FC)

Forwards: Rahul KP (Kerala Blasters), Gurkirat Singh (Mumbai City FC), Rahim Ali (Chennaiyin FC), Sunil Chhetri (Bengaluru FC)

Head Coach: Igor Stimac

Myanmar Squad

Goalkeepers: Pyae Phyo Thu (Yadanarbon), Pyae Phyo Aung (Hanthawaddy), Zin Nyi Nyi Aung (Dagon Stars United)

Defenders: Nyan Lin Htet (Yangon United), Thet Hein Soe (Yadanarbon), Latt Wai Phone (Shan United), Kaung Htet Paing (Yadanarbon), Zin Ko Htet (Yangon United), Zwe Khant Min (Shan United), Hein Zayar Linn (Yangon United), Min Khant (Rakhine United)

Midfielders: Wai Linn Aung (Dagon Stars United), Zaw Win Thein (Yangon United), Arkar Kyaw (Mahar United), Khun Kyaw Zin Hein (Hanthawaddy), Min Myat Soe (Dagon Stars United), Yan Naing Oo (Yangon United), Nay Moe Naing (Hanthawaddy),

Forwards: Oakkar Naing (Yangon United), Htet Phyo Wai (Shan United), Yan Kyaw Htwe (Yangon United), Chit Aye (Yadanarbon)

Head Coach - Michael Feichtenbeiner

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.