Contact Us

FIFA world cup winners list from 1930 to 2018

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious international tournament that takes place every four years. Take a look at the FIFA world cup winners list from 1930 to 2018.

Last updated: 13.06.2022
FIFA world cup winners list from 1930 to 2018

The FIFA World Cup is the most prestigious international tournament that takes place every four years. Nations around the globe compete for the 18 karat gold trophy and prize money. But more than that, countries compete for the glory and the recognition of their country. Before the World Cup, Summer Olympics used to be the only main event, but on May 26, 1928, it was decided by FIFA to organize the World Cup. The FIFA World Cup was first held in Uruguay in 1930. Since then It has been organized quadrennially, except in the years 1942 and 1946 due to world war 2. Here is the list of all the FIFA World Cup winners' names.

1930 FIFA World cup– Uruguay

Uruguay was the first country to host and win the world cup. A total of 13 nations participated in the tournament. Uruguay defeated Argentina 4-2.  

1934 FIFA world cup– Italy

The second world cup took place in Italy with 16 teams participating in the mega event. Again the host of the World Cup Italy won 2-1 against Czechoslovakia.

1938 FIFA world cup– Italy

France hosted the 1938 FIFA World Cup with 16 nations. Indonesia was the first Asian team to participate in this World Cup. Italians were again the world champions by defeating Hungary 4-2.

1950 FIFA world cup– Uruguay

Several teams were either banned or withdrew themselves from the competition due to political reasons that arise during World War 2. Nevertheless, hosts Brazil suffered a 2-1 defeat at the hands of Uruguay.

1954 FIFA world cup– Germany

The 1954 World Cup was the first tournament that was broadcasted on television. Switzerland hosted the Cup but couldn’t reach the finals. West Germany won 3-2 against Hungary.

1958 FIFA world cup– Brazil

Sweden hosted the 1958 World Cup and even reached the finals, but was unlucky as Brazil won 5-2.  

1962 FIFA world cup– Brazil

The 1962 World Cup was played in Chile. Brazil won their second world cup by defeating Czechoslovakia 3-1.

1966 FIFA World cup– England

England hosted the World Cup in 1966 and won their first-ever World Cup by defeating West Germany 4-2 in extra time.

1970 FIFA World cup– Brazil

Mexico hosted the 1970 World Cup. Brazil clinched their third World Cup by defeating the Italians 4-1.  

1974 FIFA world cup– Germany

Tournament host West Germany won their 2nd World Cup by defeating Netherlands 2-1, thus lifting the trophy in front of their nation.

1978 FIFA World cup– Argentina

Argentina hosted the 1978 World Cup with 16 nations. The Netherlands reached the final again but lost 3-1  in extra time at the hands of Argentina.

1982 FIFA World cup– Italy

The 12th World Cup was held in Spain and the teams were increased from 16 to 24 due to an increase in the number of qualifying nations. Italy won 3-1 against West Germany.

1986 FIFA world cup– Argentina

The 1986 World Cup was again hosted in Mexico with 24 teams participating. West Germany lost two consecutive finals this time at the hands of Argentina who won their second.

1990 FIFA world cup– Germany

Italy hosted the 1990 World Cup with West Germany reaching the finals for the third time. And this time, they won 1-0 against Argentina.

1994 FIFA world cup– Brazil

The USA hosted the tournament for the first time with Brazil winning their fourth World Cup against Italy, who won 3-2 in the penalty shootout.

1998 FIFA world cup– France

France hosted the 1998 World Cup with the participating team increasing from 24 to 32. The Brazilians reached the finals to win their 5th but lost 3-0 to the host France.

2002 FIFA world cup– Brazil

One of the most controversial tournaments, the 2002 World Cup was held jointly in South Korea and Japan. China, Ecuador, Senegal, and Slovenia played for the first time. Brazil won 2-0 against Germany, thus winning their 5th World Cup.

2006 FIFA World cup– Italy

The 2006 World Cup was hosted in Germany with Angola, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Serbia, and Montenegro qualifying for the first time. Italy won 5-3 on penalties against France.

2010 FIFA world cup– Spain

South Africa hosted the 2010 World Cup. Spain won with a single goal after the extra time against The Netherlands.

2014 FIFA world cup– Germany

Brazil hosted the memorable 2014 World Cup. They suffered a humiliating 7-1 defeat against Germany who later defeated Argentina by a single goal.

2018 FIFA world cup– France

The 21st FIFA World Cup took place in Russia from June 14 to July 15, 2018. It was Russia’s first time hosting the event. Around 210 nations competed in the qualifying stages. New generation France took on Croatia with a score of 4-2.

The 2022 FIFA World cup is being hosted by Qatar. A total of 32 teams will be playing in the World cup.

Brazil is the record winner of the tournament with 5 World Cups, followed by Germany and Italy who both have won 4 World Cups each.

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.