Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Liverpool FC | Hall of Fame

The Liverpool Hall of Fame is a collection of players selected by a panel of former Liverpool players and managers. Two players were selected for each decade since 1892 when Liverpool was founded. 

Last updated: 23.11.2019
Hall of fame Liverpool | Sports Social Blog

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

Liverpool is one of the greatest clubs to ever play the beautiful game. The English club has so far won 6 European Cups, more than any other English club, 3 UEFA Cups, 4 UEFA Super Cups, 18 League titles, 7 FA Cups, a record 8 League Cups, and 15 FA Community Shields. They remain one of the most successful clubs in the history of the game.

Several great players have come and gone through the gates of Anfield. They have all affected the history of the club in different ways. Some were good. Some were great. Some were spectacular.

The Hall of Fame aims to celebrate and highlight the achievements of the all-time top footballing legends to grace the Anfield. New members are added each decade. A total of 22 Liverpool players have been selected for the Hall of Fame so far.


So without further ado, let’s check out the list :





Matt McQueen and Harry Bradshaw


Jack Cox and Alex Raisbeck


Arthur Goddard and Ephraim Longworth


Donald MacKinlay and Elisha Scott


Gordon Hodgson and Jimmy McDougall


Jack Balmer and Billy Liddell


Albert Stubbins and Alan A’Court


Roger Hunt and Ron Yeats


Ian Callaghan and Ray Clemence


Kenny Dalglish and Alan Hansen


Ian Rush and John Barnes


1890 – Matt McQueen and Harry Bradshaw

Matt was recruited by the Reds shortly after Liverpool was founded in 1892 following Everton's decision to move from Anfield to Goodison Park. Both played in Liverpool's first-ever Football League match, a 2–0 win over Middlesbrough Ironopolis on 2nd September 1893. He later became director and manager of Liverpool.

Liverpool born forward, Bradshaw helped Liverpool win Football League Division Two twice in three years. He was Liverpool’s first player to achieve international recognition when he played for England against Ireland in 1897.


1900 - Jack Cox and Alex Raisbeck

Jack Cox played represented Liverpool for 11 years and managed over 320 appearances for the Reds. He left Liverpool in 1909 for Blackpool. 

Raisbeck joined Liverpool in 1898 and was appointed as their captain after two seasons. He led Liverpool to their first league title in 1901. He canceled his plans to leave when Liverpool was relegated in 1904 and helped them win back the promotion. He remained in Liverpool till 1909. 


1910 - Arthur Goddard and Ephraim Longworth

Goddard spent 12 years at Anfield scoring 80 goals in 415 appearances. Arthur became a regular in the Liverpool side during his first 3 seasons, missing just 2 games. He was part of the Second Division championship-winning side of 1905 which went on to claim the championship a year later where he was the only player not to miss a game. 

Longworth signed for the Reds in 1910 and racked up 371 appearances at Anfield. He was Liverpool's first-ever England captain. He went on to play until he was 40 years old.


1920 - Donald MacKinlay and Elisha Scott

MacKinlay joined Liverpool in 1910 and managed 434 appearances for the Reds. Liverpool won the league two years in succession in his first two years of captaincy(1921/22 & 1922/23).

Elisha spent two different spells with Liverpool before leaving at the age of 40. He still holds the record as the longest-serving player in Liverpool history. 


1930 - Gordon Hodgson and Jimmy McDougall

Hodgson signed for Liverpool in 1925 and went on to score 241 goals in 377 appearances. He was also a talented cricketer. He once took all 10 wickets in an innings in an amateur game against Liverpool Police. 

Jimmy made his debut in 1928. He racked up 356 appearances at Anfield scoring 12 times.


1940 - Jack Balmer and Billy Liddell

Had it not been for the 2nd World War, Jackie Balmer could be a lot higher up the list of Liverpool's all-time greats. The Liverpool-born striker was a hugely talented player who grew through the Everton youth ranks until 1935 when he joined Liverpool. He was given the captaincy in 1947. He played 313 games, scoring 111 goals between 1935 and 1952 which would have been a lot more if it hadn't been for the 2nd World War.

Liddell spent his entire career at Liverpool, making over 500 appearances. He was Liverpool's leading goalscorer in eight of the nine seasons from 1949-50 to 1957-58. He joined the club as a teenager in 1938 and retired in 1961, having scored 228 goals.


1950 - Albert Stubbins and Alan A'Court

Stubbins spent seven seasons at Liverpool, scoring 75 league goals. 

Alan A'Court made his debut in 1952 against Ayresome Park. He scored 61 goals for the Reds in 354 appearances. 


1960 - Roger Hunt and Ron Yeats

Roger Hunt formed one of the all-time greatest ever strike partnerships alongside Ian St John. With 286 goals in 492 all competition games for the Reds, he sits at second in the club's all-time goalscoring chart behind Ian Rush. He is one of the most prolific strikers to ever play at Anfield, coming in at an average rate of about 0.6 goals per game.

A powerful defender, Ron Yeats was the Liverpool captain in the 1960s. He was signed by manager Bill Shankly in 1961. He led the Reds to the league title in 1965-66. He racked up 454 appearances for Liverpool and left the club in 1971.


1970 - Ian Callaghan and Ray Clemence

Former English midfielder played 857 times for the Reds between 1960 and 1978. He was a key player in Bill Shankly's squad and won five 1st Division titles and two European Cups at Liverpool.

Former Reds goalkeeper, Ray Clemence was a part of the Liverpool team that won five 1st Division titles and three European Cups. He also made 61 appearances for England and was awarded an MBE (Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire) for his services to football.


1980 - Kenny Dalglish and Alan Hansen

Sir Kenny Dalglish represented Liverpool 355 times, scoring 118 goals. He is regarded by many as the greatest Liverpool player ever. He became player-manager of Liverpool in 1985 and resigned in 1991. He returned to Liverpool as a caretaker manager in 2011 after Hodgson's dismissal and was made permanent in May 2011. He is also a part of the English football Hall of Famer and European Hall of Fame.

Former Scottish defender, Hansen spent almost 15 years at Anfield. He won eight First Division titles, two FA Cups, four League Cups, three European Cups and a European Super Cup at Liverpool. He is also a part of the English Football Hall of Fame.

1990 - Ian Rush and John Barnes

Ian Rush made his name as a Liverpool legend in two different spells throughout his career. He is the club's all-time top scorer with 346 goals in all competitions. His first spell (1980-1987) was the best when he scored 139 goals in 224 league games.

Born in Jamaica, Barnes was a skillful winger and won the PFA Players' Player of the Year in 1987/88. He was awarded an MBE in 1998. He was inducted into the English Football Hall of Fame in 2005.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.