Contact Us

Spanish Grand Prix 2024: Circuit Guide for F1 Fans

Gear up for the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix! Explore the legendary Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya's history, stats, and iconic records. Don't miss out on this thrilling race - all the essential info for F1 fans is right here!

Utsav Chaudhary
Last updated: 22.06.2024
Spanish Grand Prix 2024 Circuit Guide

The Spanish Grand Prix marks the start of the triple-header. With Circuit De Barcelona-Catalunya, Formula 1 is back on the European mainland. The circuit has a historic nomadic existence. Four different venues already hosted the race between the 1950s and the 1980s. The Spanish Grand Prix was a gift to the Spanish motorsport industry. It's not just a race track, it’s a cornerstone of Spanish racing heritage. The circuit hosted its first race just five days after the opening inauguration in 1991 and embraced its mark on the official F1 calendar the same year with MotoGP joining the Spanish Grand Prix in 1992.

The Spanish Grand Prix has the contract to host F1 races until 2025. According to the latest news, from 2026, the Spanish Grand Prix would be moving to Madrid, on a new circuit. The circuit not only hosts F1 and MotoGP but also other racing events such as SBK, Porsche Continental Cup, and many more. This track is famous for its fast and low-speed corners and is liked by most of the racers on the grid. So here’s everything you need to know about the Spanish Grand Prix Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya: A Historic Look

The Circuit De Barcelona-Catalunya is a racing track situated in Montmelo, Barcelona, Catalunya, Spain. This track has a FIA Grade 1 license. However, it was not the first track that hosted any racing event until 1913. All racing events that were held in 1913 were not part of the official championship, still, it was considered the first race that marked the start of the Spanish Grand Prix. The race continued there until 1933 when venues like Lasarte and Stigges Terramr started hosting races.

After the Spanish Civil War, the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya started hosting races in 1951 as a motorsport racing arena. In 1991, the first F1 Grand Prix was hosted as a part of the official F1 Championship. The original name of the track was Circuit de Catalunya, but in 2013 a sponsorship deal was agreed with the Barcelona City Council, and the racing track was renamed as the Circuit De Barcelona-Catalunya. Designed and developed by legendary Hermann Tilke, the track became one of the popular areas for motorsport events.

In 1992, the track hosted the MotoGP event which was the second-largest motorsport event after Formula 1. Over the years the track has undergone several changes to improve the driver’s safety. With such an initiative, the track was promoted to host various racing events apart from F1 and MotoGP. The other racing series include the FIA Sportscar Championship, European Car Championship, FIA GT Championship, European Le Mans, and many others.

Stats and Secrets of the Spanish Grand Prix Track

The geographical location of the circuit somehow lies in the high altitude of Barcelona, Spain. This position of the track makes it demanding for a car’s aerodynamic qualities. With such geographical significance, the wind direction at the circuit can be changed during the day which is crucial for the F1 car’s aerodynamic performance. The length of the circuit is estimated to be about 4.657 kilometers with a mixture of fast and low-speed corners.

There are a total of 16 turns with 2 DRS detection zones. Turn 1 also known as Elf is a high braking zone that follows a long straight path. The track layout features high-speed corners, chicane, and a tricky hairpin. With such a configuration, the driver needs to adapt and test the car’s overall performance. Turn 10 (La Caixa) resembles a slow hairpin, that demands precision of steering and throttle mechanism to maintain momentum while exiting the apex.

Track Length

4.657 KM

Total Laps


Total Turns


First Grand Prix


First Grand Prix Winner

Nigel Mansell

2023 Race Winner 

Max Verstappen

From Turn 13 to Turn 16, the driver needs to throttle precisely because of the high-speed trap. In 2021, few changes were made in the chicane, so that it creates a more high-speed final section that requires the robust stability of the car and increased adrenaline over these fast corners.

Records Made at the Circuit: Barcelona's F1 Legacy

The Circuit De Barcelona-Catalunya is acquainted with a couple of records in the history of F1. Here are some honorable mentions:

  • Youngest Race Winner: Max Verstappen is the youngest race winner at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya. He achieved this record in 2016 at 18 years and 228 days old.

  • Most Podium Finishes:  Although many racers have won their first in Spain, Max Verstappen has secured 8 podium finishes at the Spanish Grand Prix.

  • The first Spanish Driver To Win the Spanish GP: The first Spaniard was Fernando Alonso in 2006.

  • Best Lap Record: The best Lap Record was made by Max Verstappen (1:16:330) in 2023.

  • Most Spanish Grand Prix Wins: Michael Schumacher holds the record for winning the most Spanish Grand Prix with an impressive 6 victories. Following Lewis Hamilton who holds 5 Spanish GP wins.

What are your thoughts on the 2024 Spanish Grand Prix? Will Max Verstappen defend his race win here or will Hamilton bounce back to win the Spanish GP and equal Schumacher's record of 6 wins? Tell us in the comment below.

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.