Contact Us

India in Athletics Olympics 2020 and full schedule

We take a look at the India in Athletics Olympics 2021 and full schedule. Check out the list of players who are participating in athletics from India in Tokyo Olympics 2020.

Last updated: 19.07.2021
india athletics olympics 2021 and full schedule

The Tokyo 2020 Summer Olympics is an upcoming international multi-sport event that will take place from July 23 to August 8, 2021, in Tokyo, Japan. The event, which was originally scheduled for July 24 to August 9, 2020, was postponed in March 2020 because of the COVID-19 epidemic, and will now be held largely behind closed doors with no spectators allowed due to the state of emergency. So far, India's best performance at the Olympics has been at the 2012 London Olympics, where our athletes earned six medals. India is sending a big Athletics contingent to Tokyo. 

Despite its enormous population, only a few Indian athletes have ever won a medal in a major or worldwide competition. Apart from Norman Pritchard, who competed in the non-national era, no Indian athlete has ever won an Olympic medal in athletics. Anju Bobby George, a women's long jumper, is the only Indian woman to have won a medal at the IAAF World Championships in Athletics, which she did in 2003. We take a look at the complete calendar of events for India's athletes at the next Olympics. First, we'll look at the athletes who have qualified for the summer games.

Indian Athletics contingent:

  • KT Irfan, Men's 20km Race Walking 

  • Sandeep Kumar, Men's 20km Race Walking 

  • Rahul Rohilla, Men's 20km Race Walking 

  • Gurpreet Singh, Men's 50km Race Walking 

  • Bhawna Jat, Women's 20km Race Walking 

  • Priyanka Goswami, Women's 20km Race Walking 

  • Avinash Sable, Men's 3000m Steeplechase 

  • Murali Sreeshankar, Men's Long Jump 

  • MP Jabir, Men's 400m Hurdles 

  • Neeraj Chopra, Men's Javelin Throw 

  • Shivpal Singh, Men's Javelin Throw 

  • Annu Rani, Women's Javelin Throw 

  • Tajinderpal Singh Toor, Men's Shot Put 

  • Dutee Chand, Women's 100m and 200m 

  • Kamalpreet Kaur, Women's Discus Throw 

  • Seema Punia, Women's Discus Throw 

  • 4x400 Mixed Relay: Revathi Veeramani, Subha Venkatesan, Dhanlakshmi Sekhar, Sarthak Bhambri, Alex Antony 

  • Men's 4x400m Relay: Amoj Jacob, Arokia Rajiv, Muhammed Anas, Naganathan Pandi, Noah Nirmal Tom

Tokyo Olympics India Athletics Full Schedule(all times in IST):

30th July 2021:

  • Men’s 3000m Steeplechase Heats - Avinash Sable, from 5:30 AM 

  • Men’s 400m Hurdles Round 1 - MP Jabir, from 7:25 AM 

  • Women’s 100m Round 1 - Dutee Chand, from 8:10 AM 

  • Mixed 4x400m Relay Round 1 - Alex Antony, Sarthak Bhambri, Revathi Veeramani, Subha Venkatesan, from 4:30 PM

31st July 2021:

  • Women’s Discus Throw Qualification - Seema Punia, Kamalpreet Kaur, from 6 AM

  • Men’s Long Jump Qualification - M Sreeshankar, from 3:40 PM 

  • Mixed 4x400m Relay Final - Alex Antony, Sarthak Bhambri, Revathi Veeramani, Subha Venkatesan (if qualify), from 6:05 PM 

  • Women’s 100m Semi-Final and Final - Dutee Chand (if qualifies), from 6:20 PM

2nd August 2021:

  • Men’s Long Jump Final - M Sreeshankar (if qualifies), from 7:20 AM

  • Women’s 200m Round 1 - Dutee Chand, from 7:30 AM 

  • Women’s Discus Throw Final - Seema Punia, Kamalpreet Kaur, from 5:30 PM 

  • Men’s 3000m Steeplechase Final - Avinash Sable (if qualifies), from 5:45 PM

3rd August 2021:

  • Women’s Javelin Throw Qualification - Annu Rani, from 5:50 AM 

  • Men’s 400m Hurdles Final - MP Jabir (if qualifies), from 8:50 AM 

  • Men’s Shot Put Qualification - Tajinder Singh Toor, from 3:45 PM 

  • Women’s 200m Final - Dutee Chand (if qualifies), from 6:20 PM

4th August 2021:

  • Men’s Javelin Throw Qualification - Neeraj Chopra, Shivpal Singh, from 5:35 AM

5th August 2021:

  • Men’s 20km Race Walk Final - KT Irfan, Sandeep Kumar, Rahul, from 1 PM

6th August 2021:

  • Men’s 50km Race Walk Final - Gurpreet Singh, from 2 AM 

  • Women’s 20km Race Walk Final - Bhawna Jat, Priyanka, from 1 PM 

  • Men’s 4x400m Relay Round 1 - Amoj Jacob, P Naganathan, Arokia Rajiv, Noah Nirmal Tom, Muhammed Anas Yahiya, from 4:55 PM 

  • Women’s Javelin Throw Final - Annu Rani (if qualifies), from 5:20 PM

7th August 2021:

  • Men’s Javelin Throw Final - Neeraj Chopra, Shivpal Singh (if qualifies), from 4:30 PM

  • Men’s 4×400 m Relay Final - Amoj Jacob, P Naganathan, Arokia Rajiv, Noah Nirmal Tom, Muhammed Anas Yahiya (if qualify), from 6:20 PM

Also Read | Full list of Indian athletes qualified for the Olympics 2020 and Indian shooting team for olympics 2021 and full schedule

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.