Contact Us
Top banner desktop

Everything you need to know about Mecca of Cricket

In our round-up to this year's world cup, here is everything you want to know about Lord's - The Mecca of Cricket.

Last updated: 29.05.2019
Lords Cricket Ground | Sports Social Blog 

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

Lord's Cricket Ground, commonly known simply as Lord’s, is a cricket venue in Sri l St John's Wood, London. Named after its founder, Thomas Lord, it is owned by Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) and is the home of Middlesex County Cricket Club, the England and Wales Cricket Club (ECB), the European Cricket Club (ECC) and until 2005, the International Cricket Council (ICC). It is widely referred to as the home of cricket and is home to the world's oldest sporting museum. It has always been the centre for most of the iconic events. Lord's today is not on its original site, being third of the three grounds that Lord established between 1787 and 1814. The current ground celebrated its two hundredth anniversary in 2014. To mark the occasion, on 5 July an MCC XI captained by Sachin Tendulkar played a Rest of the World XI led by Shane Warner in a 50 overs match.


Acting on behalf of the White Conduit Club and backed against any losses by George Finch, 9th Earl of Winchilsea and Colonel Charles Lennox, Thomas Lord opened his first round in May 1787 on the site where Dorset Square now stands. In 1811, being obliged to relocate because of a rise in rent, Lord removed his turf and relaid it at his second ground. This was short-lived because it okay on the route decided by Parliament for the Regent's Canal. The “middle ground” was on the estate of the Eyre family, who offered Lord another plot nearby, and he again relocated his turf. The new ground, on the present site, was opened in the 1814 season.



The stands at Lord's are (clockwise from the Pavilion): Pavilion, Warner Stand, Grandstand, Compton Stand, Media Centre, Edrich Stand, Mound Stand, Tavern Stand and Allen Stand. Must of these stands were built in the late 20th century. The ground can currently hope up to 28,000 spectators. The ground offers help equally to both batting and bowling. Hence we have seen records broken on both of these aspects.


Despite a major rebuilding programme in recent years, Lord's remain a cricket ground as opposed to the largely impersonal stadiums many other leading venues which may have become. Playing a Test at Lord's remains to many players as a pinnacle of a career. In spite of all the chaos and the commercialisation of cricket, Lord's hear retained its place as the spiritual home. The ”home of cricket” will be the host for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 final on the 14th of July. It will also host four other matches of the tournament.


  1. Tests: In the test matches played at the Mecca of Cricket, the highest team total has been scored by Australia who did put up 729 runs against England in 1930. South Africa comes second with a total of 682 against England in 2003. The first Test match was played between England and Australia on 21-23 July 1884. The leading run-getters on this ground are Graham Gooch (2015 runs), Alastair Cook (1937 runs) and Andrew Strauss (1562 runs). The leading wicket takers are James Anderson (103 wickets), Stuart Broad (83 wickets) and Ian Botham (69 wickets). The last test match at Lord's was played between England and India on 9-12 August 2018.

  2. One-Day internationals: The first ODI on this ground was played between England and Australia on the 26th of August, 1972. The highest team total at Lord's is 334 runs scored by England versus India in 1975. The leading run scorers in this format are Marcus Trescothick (595 runs), Sir Vivian Richards (524 runs) and Alec Stewart (509 runs). The leading wicket takers are Darren Gouch (27 wickets), James Anderson (19 wickets) and Brett Lee (18 wickets). The last match was played between England and India on 14 July 2018.

  3. T20Is: In the T20 internationals played at Lord's, the Highest team total is 199 runs scored by West Indies against ICC World XI in 2018. Three first match was played between England and the Netherlands on 5 June 2018. The leading run-getters on this pitch are Mahila Jayawardena (98 runs), Shoaib Malik (94 runs) and Younis Khan (86 runs). The leading wicket takers are Shahid Afridi (8 wickets), Lasith Malinga (5 wickets) and Saeed Ajmal (5 wickets). The last match was played between Nepal and Netherlands on 29 July 2018.


Here is the list of fixtures of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 that are ought to be played in the coming weeks:

Team 1

Team 2


Time (IST)


South Africa

23 June 2019




25 June 2019



New Zealand

29 June 2019




05 July 2019


TBD (finalist)

TBD (finalist)

14 July 2019


Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.