Contact Us

2008 AFC Challenge Cup winners: Where are they now?

Much has changed since India's win against Tajikistan in the final of 2008 AFC Challenge Cup. Players and coaches have come and gone. Let's see what are the winners of the final up to now.

Last updated: 04.05.2020
2008 AFC Challenge Cup winners | Sports Social Blog

Back in 2008, the Indian Football Team made history by lifting the AFC Challenge Cup beating Tajikistan 4-1 in the final. India managed to top the Group A table by beating Turkmenistan & Afghanistan and drawing Tajikistan. India faced Myanmar in the semi-finals and thanks to Chhetri's goal, India progressed to the final of the tournament. In the final, India thrashed Tajikistan by 4-1 with Chhetri scoring a hat-trick. The win secured India's place in the 2011 Asian Cup. 

Check the AFC Challenge Cup 2008 Results: All matches results and summary

Indian lineup in the final against Tajikistan:

Goalkeeper:  Subrata Pal

Defenders: Anwar Ali, Surkumar Singh, Gouramangi Singh, Samir Naik

Midfielders: Pappachen Pradeep, Steven Dias, Climax Lawrence, Renedy Singh

Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Bhaichung Bhutia

Much has changed since that day. Players and coaches have come and gone. But what are winners of the final up to now ? Let's take a look.

Subrata Pal

The 33-year-old Goalkeeper has fallen out of favour in the national team with Gurpreet Sandhu donning the number 1 jersey at present. Last season he played for Jamshedpur FC in ISL. Subrata Pal is currently under contract with Hyderbad FC in Indian Super League.

Anwar Ali

Anwar Ali hasn't been called up for the national team since 2012. He was a part of Mumbai City FC last season but he could manage just two appearances. He's currently plying his trade with Punjab FC in I-League. Apart from Subrata Pal & Chhetri, he's the only player from this list who's currently active in club football. 

Surkumar Singh

The Manipuri defender is now playing for United Sikkim FC in the 2nd division I-League. He last represented the national team in 2011. 

Gouramangi Singh 

The 34-year-old defender was a regular figure in the Indian squad till 2013. He last played for Neroca FC in the I-League. In December last year, it was announced that Gouramangi would join 2nd Division I-League side Bengaluru United FC as the head coach.

Samir Naik

Samir Naik played for Dempo SC throughout his club career. He retired in 2017 and was appointed as their manager. He was a part of the Dempo SC squad that won two league titles and reached the semi-finals of the AFC Cup. 

Pappachen Pradeep

The former midfielder last played club football for Mumbai FC in 2015 and is without a club since then. He has 52 appearances for the national team scoring 14 goals. 

Renedy Singh

Former Indian captain, Renedy Singh was regular for the national team for more than a decade. He last played club football for Kerala Blasters. In 2015 he joined CSKA Sofia on loan from Kerala Blasters, becoming the first Indian to sign for a Bulgarian club. However, he did not make any official appearances for the team, which was facing serious financial difficulties at the time. He also managed Neroca FC in 2019. 

Steven Dias

Former Indian attacking midfielder, Steven Dias last played for the I-League club Mumbai FC in 2017. He was known for his deadly combination with Sunil Chhetri in the national team. 

Climax Lawrence

The scorer of India's winner against Afghanistan in the group stages of the AFC Challenge Cup retired from football in 2018. He's currently the assistant manager of FC Bardez Goa. 

Sunil Chhetri

The all-time top goalscorer and the current captain of the Indian National Team, Sunil Chhetri currently plays for Bengaluru FC in the Indian Super League. He was named an 'Asian Icon' by AFC on his 34th birthday. He has over 72 goals for the country and is second in the list of most international goals by an active player.

Bhaichung Bhutia

The Sikkimese sniper and three times winner of Indian Player of the Year, Bhaichung Bhutia retired from international football in 2011. In 2012 he played his farewell match against Bayern Munich in Delhi. He established his own political party in 2018, Hamro Sikkim Party. 

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.