Contact Us
Top banner desktop

List of Purple Cap winners in IPL from 2008 to 2023

Purple Cap is an annual award given to the player with the highest number of wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season. Here check out the list of all purple cap winners list year wise from 2008 to 2023.

Last updated: 27.03.2024
List of Purple Cap winners in IPL History| Sports Social Blog

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

Purple Cap is an annual award given to the player with the highest number of wickets in an Indian Premier League (IPL) season. While it is commonly said that the T20 format is all about batters and high-scoring runs, the bowlers always decide the course of the match. In 16 IPL seasons, we have surely seen 16 Purple Cap winners, but two players have won it twice.  


Let's have a year-wise look at all the Purple Cap winners we got from 2008 to 2023.

List of IPL Purple Cap winners







Sohail Tanvir





R. P. Singh





Pragyan Ojha





Lasith Malinga


Sri Lankan



Morne Morkel


South African



Dwayne Bravo





Mohit Sharma





Dwayne Bravo





Bhuvneshwar Kumar





Bhuvneshwar Kumar





Andrew Tye





Imran Tahir


South African



Kagiso Rabada


South African



Harshal Patel





Yuzvendra Chahal





Mohammad Shami





IPL 2008 Purple Cap: Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals)   

During the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL 2008), the purple cap was bagged by Pakistan's pacer Sohail Tanvir. Playing 11 matches for Rajasthan Royals, Tanvir took 22 wickets with at an economy rate of 6.46. His best bowling figures were 6/14. His deadly bowling not only helped him to win the prestigious Purple Cap but also was the key factor in making his team win the title in that session.

IPL 2009 Purple Cap: RP Singh (Deccan Chargers)


In IPL 2009, it was Indian medium-pacer Rudra Pratap Singh who bagged 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy rate of 6.98. RP Singh's incredible bowling performance made him the Purple Cap winner and helped his team, Deccan Chargers, become the title winners.

IPL 2010 Purple Cap: Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)   

In IPL 2010, it was another Deccan Chargers bowler Pragyan Ojha who became the Purple Cap winner. The left-arm spinner was impressive with fine bowling as he picked 21 wickets in 16 matches at an economy rate of 7.29. The team finished that season in the third place.

IPL 2011 Purple Cap: Lasith Malinga (Mumbai Indians)  

In IPL 2011, the iconic player of Mumbai Indians, Lasith Malinga bagged the Purple Cap. The bowler with signature slinging action produced economical spells during the particular season of the Indian Premier League to become the highest wicket-taker. Malinga took 28 wickets in 16 matches at a spell-binding economy of 5.95. Mumbai Indians reached Qualifier 2 in the IPL 2011, where they lost against Royal Challengers Bangalore by 43 runs.

IPL 2012 Purple Cap: Morne Morkel (Delhi Daredevils)  

In IPL 2012, Delhi Daredevils' pacer Morne Morkel became the highest wicket-taker of the season. The immensely lethal South African bowler bagged 25 wickets in 16 matches at a 7.19 economy rate. His best bowling figures of 4/20 came against Kings XI Punjab. While Daredevils stunned everyone by dropping best-in-form Morkel in the playing XI for Qualifier 2, they poorly suffered a defeat against Chennai Super Kings.

IPL 2013 Purple Cap: Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)  

In IPL 2013, Dwayne Bravo picked 32 wickets in 18 matches to become the leading wicket-taker. His tally of 32 wickets earned him not only his first Purple Cap but also remains the most number of wickets scalped by a single player in an IPL edition. His incredible performances contributed to his team, Chennai Super Kings, reaching the Final. However, CSK suffered a 23-run defeat against Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2013 Final.

IPL 2014 Purple Cap: Mohit Sharma (Chennai Super Kings)  

In IPL 2014, it was again a player of Chennai Super Kings who bagged the Purple Cap. The medium pacer Mohit Sharma finished as the leading wicket-taker by picking up 23 wickets in 16 matches at an economy of 8.39. CSK were knocked out by KXIP by 24 runs in the Qualifier 2.

IPL 2015 Purple Cap: Dwayne Bravo (Chennai Super Kings)  

It was the third consecutive year that the Purple Cap winner was from Chennai Super Kings (CSK).  In IPL 2015, West Indies all-rounder Dwayne Bravo bagged the Purple Cap for the second time. Playing for Chennai Super Kings, Bravo picked 26 wickets in 17 matches. Although CSK reached the final, they lost the Final to Mumbai Indians by 41 runs.

IPL 2016 Purple Cap: Bhunveshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)  

In IPL 2016, Bhuvneshwar Kumar of Sunrisers Hyderabad was agonizingly painful for the opposition batters. He bowled in a perfect line and length in the entire session and picked 23 wickets in 17 matches. Despite his economy falling on the expensive side, Kumar got Sunrisers Hyderabad timely breakthrough wickets, which contributed immensely to the title-winning.

IPL 2017 Purple Cap: Bhunveshwar Kumar (Sunrisers Hyderabad)  

For consecutive years, Bhuvneshwar Kumar of SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) was the leading wicket-taker of the session. He took 26 wickets in 14 matches with an economy rate of 7.05. His season’s best bowling figures were 5/19. SRH entered that edition as the defending champions and qualified for playoffs but got knocked out by Kolkata Knight Riders in Eliminator, hence finishing fourth at the end of the tournament.

IPL 2018 Purple Cap: Andre Tye (Kings XI Punjab)  

In IPL 2018, the Australian pacer Andrew Tye of Kings XI Punjab bagged Purple Cap by taking 24 wickets in 14 matches with an economy rate of 8. Despite his remarkable performance, the team marked its very disappointing position of seventh at the end of the session.

IPL 2019 Purple Cap: Imran Tahir (Chennai Super Kings)  

Legendary South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir dominated the IPL 2019 for Chennai Super Kings (CSK). While CSK lost the final-ball thriller against Mumbai Indians in the IPL 2019 final, Tahir finished that competition with 26 wickets in 17 matches with an economy rate of 6.69.  

IPL 2020 Purple Cap: Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Capitals)  

In the IPL 2020, South African pacer Kagiso Rabada won the Purple Cap by finishing the tournament with 30 wickets in 17 matches (economy rate 8.34). His team Delhi Capitals played the IPL Final for the first time but lost the IPL 2020 Final against Mumbai Indians.

IPL 2021 Purple Cap: Harshal Patel (Royal Challengers Bangalore)  

In the IPL 2021, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer Harshal Patel was in great form. The Indian pacer equalled the record for most wickets in an IPL season by picking up 32 wickets in 15 matches with an economy rate of 8.14.

IPL 2022 Purple Cap: Yuzvendra Chahal (Rajasthan Royals)  

In the IPL 2022, Indian leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal won the Purple Cap after taking 27 wickets in 17 matches with an economy rate of 7.75. Chahal played an important role for Rajasthan Royals in that competition, where the inaugural IPL champions ended as the runners-up.

IPL 2023 Purple Cap: Mohammad Shami (Gujarat Titans)  

Mohammad Shami incredibly used his experience at the IPL 2023 as he ended with the Purple Cap by picking up 28 wickets in 17 matches with an economy rate of 8.03. Although the defending champions Gujarat Titans played their second consecutive IPL Final in that season, Chennai Super Kings won that Final on the last ball.

You will be surprised to see the list of orange cap winners

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.