Contact Us
Top banner desktop

All you need to know about the FIBA | History, Tournaments and Various Zones

The International Basketball Federation, FIBA is the organization that oversees basketball internationally. In this article, we take a look at the FIBA's history, competitions, and zones.

Last updated: 23.08.2023
All you need to know about the FIBA History Tournaments and Various Zones

Get 100% Deposit Bonus on Bilbet

Exclusive bonuses and freebets available in IPL 2024. Turn your Cricket Knowledge into Money!

The International Basketball Federation, also known as Fédération Internationale de Basket-ball (FIBA), is the organization that oversees basketball internationally. Basketball regulations are established by FIBA, which also oversees international competitions and works to advance basketball's global growth. We will offer you an outline of FIBA's history, competitions, and zones in this blog article.





Eight national basketball federations—Argentina, Czechoslovakia, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Romania, and Switzerland—formed FIBA in Geneva, Switzerland, in 1932. Fédération Internationale de Basket-ball Amateur, which reflected the organization's amateur status at the time, served as FIBA's initial name. Basketball was formally recognized as an Olympic sport in 1936, the same year that FIBA joined the International Olympic Committee (IOC).


In 1950, FIBA held its first significant competition, the FIBA Basketball World Cup for men's national teams. The first competition was conducted in Argentina, and the host country took first place. For women's national teams, FIBA introduced the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup in 1953. The USA won the first competition, which took place in Chile.


To reflect the increasing professionalism of the sport, FIBA dropped the term "amateur" from its name in 1989 and became the Fédération Internationale de Basketball. NBA players were initially permitted to compete in the Olympics by FIBA in 1992, giving rise to the renowned "Dream Team" that dominated the Barcelona Games. The FIBA 3x3 World Tour, which is open to both men's and women's teams of three players, was launched by FIBA in 2007.




FIBA organizes several tournaments for different categories and levels of basketball. The main tournaments are:


●  The premier competition for men's national teams is the FIBA Basketball World Cup. In alternate years with the Olympics, it is held. Spain won the 2019 competition in China to become the current champion. The Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia will serve as co-hosts for the following edition in 2023.


●  A similar competition for women's national teams is the FIBA Women's Basketball World Cup. In addition, it alternates with the Olympics every four years. The USA won the 2018 competition in Spain to become the current champion. The following edition will take place in Australia in 2022.


●  The top level of 3x3 basketball for men's and women's teams is the FIBA 3x3 World Tour. It comprises a Final event at the conclusion of the season and a number of Masters tournaments held all around the world. For men, Riga (Latvia) and for women, Lausanne (Switzerland) are the reigning champions.

●  The men's and women's national teams compete in regional competitions known as the FIBA Continental Cups to earn spots in the World Cup and Olympics. Depending on the continent, they are held either every two or every four years. There are five continental cups: the FIBA AfroBasket for Africa, the FIBA AmeriCup for the Americas, the FIBA Asia Cup for Asia, the FIBA EuroBasket for Europe, and the FIBA Oceania Cup for Oceania.



Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and Oceania are the five zones into which FIBA divides its 212 member federations. Each zone has an executive director and regional office to supervise the growth and management of basketball in their respective areas. There are also sub-zones or sub-sub-sub-zones inside each zone that have federations in smaller regions.


The zones are:


●  FIBA Africa is made up of 54 African federations. In Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire is where its regional office is situated. Zones 1 (North Africa), 2 (West Africa), 3 (Central Africa), 4 (Central-West Africa), 5 (East Africa), 6 (Southern Africa), and Zone 7 (Indian Ocean) are its sub-zones.

●  44 federations from North America, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean make up FIBA Americas. San Juan, Puerto Rico, serves as the location of its regional office. These are its sub-zones: South America Sub-Zone (South America), Central America Sub-Zone (Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean), and North America Sub-Zone (Canada and the USA).

●  There are 44 federations from Asia and Oceania that makeup FIBA Asia. Lebanon's Beirut is home to its regional office. They are the Gulf Sub-Zone, South Asia Sub-Zone, Southeast Asia Sub-Zone, West Asia Sub-Zone, East Asia Sub-Zone, and Central Asia Sub-Zone.

●  50 European federations make up FIBA Europe. Germany's Munich is home to its regional office. A Sub-Zone represents Northern Europe, B Sub-Zone represents Central Europe, C Sub-Zone represents Eastern Europe, and D Sub-Zone represents Mediterranean Europe.

●  20 federations from Oceania make up FIBA Oceania. Australia's Canberra serves as the location of its regional office. Melanesia Sub-Zone, Micronesia Sub-Zone, and Polynesia Sub-Zone are its sub-zones.

Top banner desktop

Chase Your Sport

Stay up-to-date on the latest sports news, stats, expert analysis and trends, including cricket, football, wrestling, tennis, basketball, Formula One and more. Find previews, schedules, results of upcoming events, and fantasy tips on Chase Your Sport.